Welcome to the living history of Wyoming

Collections Committee

The chairperson of the Collections Committee is appointed by the president of the State Society. The The collection committee's functions are: The Collections Committee shall be appointed by the president of the Wyoming State Historical Society. The committee shall be made up of six members of the Society. One member will be recommended by the Wyoming State Archives and approved by the president of the WSHS. One member will be recommended by the American Heritage Center One member will be recommended by and approved by the president of the WSHS. One member will be recommended by the Dean of Libraries at University of Wyoming and approved by the president of the WSHS. At least one member will be a member of the Website Committee. The remaining members will be appointed from the general membership of the WSHS. two members to be appointed annually by the president of the society. The Collections Committee’s duties and responsibilities will be to provide ethical guidance and direction for the society regarding acquisition of items of historical interest which the society receives from individuals, institutions, etc. It shall be the duty of the Chairman of the committee, in consultation with the President of the WSHS and any other party deemed appropriate, to review all offers of potential acquisitions and to determine whether these items will be accepted. Items determined to be of interest to an understanding of the history of Wyoming and its environs may be accepted. Once an item has been formally and legally accepted as property of the WSHS, a determination shall be made by the Collections Committee as to which state or local repository is the most appropriate for its long-term care. Items of general interest and not deemed of special value to understanding the history of the state, shall be gifted to an appropriate repository at the discretion of the Chairman of the committee and the President of the WSHS. All other acquisitions shall be reviewed by a quorum (four members) of the Collections Committee and a decision made as to their disposition by a simple majority of that committee. The Chairman of the Collections Committee will then assure that the gift is made to the appropriate institution formally and legally. The committee will report its activities at the Wyoming State Historical Society’s Annual Meetings. To make a donation, contact the committee chair below.


Chair: Alice Cornell, Jackson
Committee Members: Sylvia Bruner, Buffalo; Betsy Watry, Pinedale; Rebecca Hunt, Denver; Kathy Marquis, Cheyenne, Jamie Greene, Laramie
For details contact Society headquarters at 307-322-3014 or linda@wyshs.org