Welcome to the living history of Wyoming

Executive Committee

The EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE is the governing body of the Society. It is composed of nine elected trustees. Three trustees are elected each year. Four trustees serve as at-large members. At least one trustee is elected from each of the four geographic regions: NE = Sheridan, Johnson, Campbell, Crook, Weston SE = Converse, Niobrara, Platte, Goshen, Laramie, Albany, Carbon NW = Park, Big Horn, Hot Springs, Washakie, Fremont, Natrona SW = Teton, Lincoln, Sublette, Uinta, Sweetwater At large trustees may reside in any part of the state.To qualify for nomination as a regional trustee, a member's principal place of residence must be located within that region. Three trustees shall be elected each year. The rotation of trustee positions which are open for election shall not change except through modification of the Constitution.

The Executive committee reorganizes annually, immediately following the annual business meeting of the society membership. This group plans the activities of the year, meets at least four times a year, or may meet as frequently as called by the president to expedite the business of the Society. Local chapter presidents, or their designated representative, are considered voting members of the Executive Committee when invited by the president to attend a given meeting or meetings. As a committee this group shall select from amongst themselves a President, First Vice President, Second Vice President, Secretary, and Treasurer.

PRESIDENT: The president sets the dates of the Executive Committee meetings, prepares the agenda, presides at all meetings that the committee and the business meetings, and presides at the Annual Business Meeting. The president coordinates activities of the State Society and its chapters. The president appoints committee chairmen and members with the assistance of the Executive Committee and, in accordance with the Constitution and Bylaws, serves on various other committees involving awards and grants. The president issues follow-up letters to see that committee chairmen are functioning and know their time limits. The president presents those program awards not under the authority of the 2nd vice president and introduces the new officers at the Annual Meeting.

FIRST VICE PRESIDENT: The first vice president is Chairman of the Projects Committee and also assumes responsibility for planning the Annual Trek.

SECOND VICE PRESIDENT: The second vice president is chairman of the Awards Committee and is in charge of the Awards Program of the Society. Award winners must be reported to the Executive Secretary at least three to four weeks before the Annual Meeting so winners can be notified and awards certificates prepared. At the Annual Meeting this officer presents the award certificates to the winners.

SECRETARY: The secretary takes minutes of the Executive Committee meetings and the Annual Meeting, and handles other correspondence pertaining to the office as directed.

TREASURER: The treasurer records deposits made by the executive secretary, pays bills, and maintains the financial accounts thereon. The treasurer issues such financial statements as are required for the Executive Committee meetings and Annual Meeting and has the books reviewed annually immediately after the end of the fiscal year. AT LARGE TRUSTEES: The four remaining trustees, along with the officers of the Executive Committee, will work with county presidents when assistance is needed and keep chapters informed of the WSHS projects, request assistance in planning projects and suggestions on new projects to keep the Society "saving the Wyoming history". All trustees shall attend the Executive Board meetings if at all possible as voting members.

EXECUTIVE SECRETARY: The executive secretary is an employee and will:

  1. Serve as the official link for the WSHS and will coordinate communications with historical institutions in Wyoming, chapters statewide, History News, Annals of Wyoming, the Executive Committee, the Membership Coordinator, and committee chairs, etc.
  2. Attend meetings and/or special events; coordinate schedules of WSHS Executive Committee to participate in chapter activities
  3. Write, compose, compile and disseminate statewide information and advertisements about activities, programs and projects of the WSHS.
  4. Organize the annual meeting under the direction of the Executive Committee.
  5. Assist host chapter in coordinating Trek activities as needed.
  6. Assist committee chairs in fulfilling their responsibilities, i.e. create flyers, update manuals, keep abreast of relevant legislationthat is history related, etc.
  7. Assist WSHS President and other officers with day-to-day duties, i.e. correspondence, minutes, etc.
  8. Assist in fulfilling the requirements of the Society’s grant programs, i.e. Homsher, grant programs funded by state monies, etc.
  9. Assist in identifying funds to purchase materials in promoting special exhibits or events.
  10. Assist the WSHS Foundation in developing fundraising strategies and other duties as requested
  11. Call 307-322-3014 for specific information.  


Position/Appointment Expiration Address

(At Large)

Doug Cubbison, Casper. 

1st Vice President:
(NE Rep)

Leslie Waggener, Laramie

2nd Vice President:
(At Large)

Jane Gebhart, Gillette

(At Large)

Carl Hallberg

(At Large)

Rick Robbins, Wheatland 

(NE Region)

Sylvia Bruner, Buffalo

(NW Region)

Doug Cubbison, 4460 S. Poplar, Casper, WY 82601

(SW Region)

Jonita Sommers, Pinedale


(At Large)

Lisa Thalken, Douglas




At Large Out of State

John Shields, Boulder City, NV